University of Bern

About the University

The University of Bern, in the Swiss capital of Bern was founded in 1834. The Canton of Bern regulates and finances the university. The university offers a broad choice of courses and programs in eight faculties and 150 institutes. It is the third-largest university in Switzerland with around 18,576 students.


It operates at three levels-

  1. University
  2. Faculties
  3. Institutes

Other units include interfaculty and general university units.

The university does not have one single large campus on the edge of the city but has pursued the principle of a university in the city.


There are eight faculties in the University of Bern-

  • Theology
  • Law
  • Business, Economics, and Social Sciences
  • Medicine
  • Veterinary Medicine
  • Humanities
  • Science
  • Human Sciences


A strategic alliance in the fields of cardiac surgery, neurosurgery, pathology, and microbiology is formed by the Medical Faculties of the Universities of Bern and Basel. It covers a wide range of classical university in around 39 bachelors, 71 masters, and 69 advanced study programs.



Average tuition fees: 1,700 EUR/Year.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *